Entries to the 2017 World Slasher Cup I ready to rumble

Posted on 12 January 2017

Gary Tesorero (left) and Jun Durano (representing Magno Lim) of entry MLG 63 with their trophy, flanked by the Binibining Pilipinas queens at last year’s awarding of the 2016 World Slasher Cup II championship

The rueda is almost ready and the historic Smart Araneta Coliseum will once again be rocked by the most intense battles among the top gamefowl breeds from all over the world in the prestigious 2017 World Slasher Cup. Slated from January 23 to February 1, this year’s 9-cock invitational derby is still the most awaited competition among breeders and enthusiasts.

Over 300 entries will vie for the Slasher title in the 9-day global spectacle. Touted as the “Olympics of Cockfighting,” contenders with the finest winged-warriors will come from the US, Kuwait, Indonesia, Malaysia, Taiwan, and the Philippines.

The beauty of this gentleman’s sport is that the odds are never truly set. Though people pick their bets between “meron” or “wala,” the tide can turn in a blink of an eye.

2016’s World Slasher Cup II champ Magno Lim tells Pit Games magazine, “That’s why I enjoy cockfighting... I’ve seen the seemingly impossible happen before my eyes. For instance, just when I begin thinking I’m about to lose my fight, something quickly changes and the referee calls it in my favor.”

The 2-cock eliminations will start on the January 23 for a three-day smackdown until January 25. Qualifiers will then move on to the 3-cock semi-finals set on January 26 to 29. Individual entries with a score of 3.5 or 4 points will compete in the 4-cock pre-finals from January 29 to 31. Undefeated entries with a score of 4.5 or 5 points earn the chance to be named this year’s World Slasher Cup champion at the grand finals on February 1.

Lim’s entry under the banner MLG 63, with his teammate Gary Tesorero, won the pot money and the prestige at the 2016 World Slasher Cup II in May last year.

Earlier, 2016 World Slasher Cup 1 yielded tie champions, namely the entries from Blueblade Farms AA, and Phoenix II (the team composed of Mario Villamor, Ed Aparri and Art de Castro).

For tickets and information to 2017 World Slasher Cup I, visit Ticketnet website and call 911-5555.

For more News on Binibining Pilipinas visit www.bbpilipinas.com and the BinibiningPilipinas official Facebook page https://www.facebook.com/realbbpilipinasand follow @bbpilipinasofficialon Instagram.

Press Archives

Find us on Facebook
Get the Latest News and Events!
Join our Binibining Pilipinas Mailing List

Subscribe to our newsletter!

Get the latest news and events from Binibining Pilipinas Queens and Pagaent Candidates.